Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 223 total)
  • Cheap Chinese carbon bars and titanium skewers. Any good?
  • I know there’s been a few threads on cheap Chinese carbon frames, and I think the general consensus was that they are good value for money and just as durable as the well known brands.

What about components though?

These two in particular.
    Carbon bars for £14.
    Titanium skewers for £7

Are they all made in the same factory and it’s just that these haven’t got a known brand name printed on them at the end of the production line, or are they some dodgy substandard rip off?

Worth buying or not? I mean, cheap bars and skewers, what could possibly go wrong?

pete68
    Free Member

I wouldn’t. 2 areas you really don’t want failing.

jameso

With your reputation? : )

Why bother.. I don’t wreck as much kit and I’d always use RWS or XT skewers and reputable bars.

beaconjon
    Free Member

I’ve been running a chinese road frame for the last 3 years as a training bike. I originally had a one piece bars/stem combo and had no issues. I changed it out for a longer stem.

Can’t really comment on mtb bars. Must admit, in the 2004 Enduro I’m building up I’ll get a set of Renthal’s, road riding is one thing but on the trails is something else.

Conan257
    Free Member

I believe i’ll be buying a Chinese carbon full sus next year when I get the pennies together… So I’m sold on the Chinese carbon front…

However, I probably wouldn’t get Chinese carbon bars… Doesn’t sit right in my head… But I don’t doubt that some big brand bars are made in teh same factory!

DT78
    Free Member

I just found some cracks in my rather expensive 3t carbon roadie bars so I don’t think failures are restricted to Chinese direct stuff 🙁

My LB rims (only thing I’ve got experience off) have been great so far and taken a beating.

nach
    Free Member