Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Changing pedal systems – CB to Shimano or Time?
  • kevin1911

I’ve been riding Crank Brothers Candy pedals for about 15 years, and have always liked the float and consistent entry and exit the offer. I’ve always been able to live with the maintenance issues, but I’m now thinking about changing up. Shimano is the obvious choice, but not sure I like the thought of having little or no lateral float (I don’t have any specific knee problems, but I’d like to keep it that way!). Time Atac’s are the other candidate, and I’m erring towards them at the moment, but have seen the Bikeradar review which says they can be really awkward to unclip from.

Just wondering if anyone else has made the switch from CB to Time (or any other system), and how did it go for you?

carlos
    Free Member

CB to Time convert here. Got sick of rebuilding the CB’s every other couple of months or so

Wish I’d found out about Time sooner as they are great pedals imo. Nice float, longevity is great, pedal feel when not clipped in is reassuring, not too pricey and not that heavy.

Two riding buddies have converted from Shimano to Time in the last few months and neither would go back

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I went from time, to CB, to shimano. Won’t be changing again.

Even £20 shimano m520’s just go on, and on, and on. The cleats last several times longer too. There’s still plenty of float. My knees actually prefer them because you don’t have to force them round to unclip, and they actually click in/out, and at a consistent angle, no more guessing, or tentatively pulling up for the first few pedals, or coming to a stop and finding that the spring just won’t release at the angle you thought it would.

I had no problems rebuilding CB’s, they’re simple enough, but not having to do any maintenance at all is even better. And for £20 I’d just bin them if they did need it.