Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Change of career advice needed
  • JonEdwards
    Free Member

Bit long winded, but bear with me please…

I’m 38

Need some ideas for a career change for someone who has a brain, and isn’t afraid to use it, but no useful qualifications (a poor degree in geology!). Good with my hands, good mechanically, not afraid of long hours or hard physical/mental work, but is old enough not to want to do hard physical labour every day.

I’ve been working for the last 15 years as a Lighting Designer/Technical Manager (a job I’m very good at) for an Event Production company, but for a variety of long winded reasons, I need out of that. I fell into that job by accident when I graduated and have since built a career out of it. (worked in technical theatre whilst a student)

I don’t do corporate bullshit, and I’ve been effectively self managed for my entire adult life (am now being actively managed and that’s part of the issue), and it needs to be something that’s going to pique my interest or I’ll end up getting bored very quickly. I’m also an anti-social shite who works best on his own.

I need to earn £30k minimum (+ pension etc) to maintain lifestyle (that is taking a paycut), and it needs to be within sensible commuting distance of W. Sheffield.

…so what am I good for…? I really have no idea. I feel I should be capable of doing almost anything, but I seem to be barely qualified to stack shelves in tescos.

Ideas please!

Thanks,

Jon

Mackem

I’m in the same boat, just cruising along teaching English at the moment, not really a career though. Starting to modernise my IT skills and hope for the best.

beckykirk43
    Free Member

I don’t know what to suggest as a specific career, but if you’ve got 15 years of experience in a job that you’re good at I suspect that will count for a lot, so don’t put yourself down.