• This topic has 23 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by Mog.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Carrying stuff on a motorbike
  • Mog
    Free Member

I posted a couple of months ago that I was completing my DAS with the hope of commuting by bike due to work relocating. All went to plan and now I’ve been riding for a couple of months I need to sort out the commuting side.

I work between 2 sites and need to carry a laptop, change of clothes and me butties every day (laptop maybe 2 or 3 times a week). Had planned on getting a top box but it’s proving prohibitively expensive with the box, plate & rack. So, I think I’m left with rucksack, soft panniers or a tailbag. I wanted to avoid the rucksack so there’s nothing on me, but not sure about safety of the others? Also, it’d be handy to be able to leave the helmet with the bike when I go on site visits.

What do you use? Any recommendations?

Cheers, all.

geordiemick00
    Free Member

Top tip: Don’t use a motorbike to save money, it simply doesn’t work like that, you end up biking on a budget and it don’t work. I used a bike for three years in my business and they’re great for cutting through traffic etc and nipping about but come at a cost.

What bike have you got?

A top box is really the best option, don’t price up the OE systems, try renntec etc.

Soft panniers are great but take time to get them on right and not secure when you leave the bike.

neninja
    Free Member

Ventura luggage system is great. You fit the rack to your bike and can then add different options of luggage. You can also remove the main rack when not required and fit a grab handle instead for a passenger.

The other alternative is a motorcycle specific backpack.
    http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Ogio-No-Drag-Motorcycle-Pack_45270.htm
    or if you can afford one
    http://www.boblbee.com/eu/default.asp

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...