Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Car tyre – width question
  • rob-jackson
    Free Member

My tyres are 205 and my missus’ 195.

If we bought 4 winter tyres (cheaper per tyre if bought in a four) – could i use them on mine or would it be all to cock?

same 60 r15

ketchup
    Free Member

Don’t think so, I’m not sure if the thinner tyre would fit on your wheel although i’m not an expert and have never needed to change my tyres before.

Also iirc the 60 in your post is a percentage of the width of your tyres, i.e the distance between the edge of the rim and the circumference of the tyre would be different. If the thinner tyres did fit your wheels (again I dont know if they would or not) then you’d need to get your speedo reconfigured as the smaller tyre would make it inaccurate.

But as I said I’m not an expert and could speaking a pile of rubbish 😛

TheFlyingOx

That’s just a 10mm difference. The stretched tyre look is in with the Euro car modifying scene anyway. Go for it.

parkesie
    Free Member

would fit stretched euro look bobbins. Id suggest getting hold of a pair of steel wheels that will fit the tyres properly though. Saves changing tyres over come summer.

ketchup
    Free Member

It would be roughly a 40mm difference in circumference which if my maths is correct is about a 2% decrease in radius which would mean that everytime your car says you’ve done a mile you’ve only done 98% of a mile (if you don’t get the speedo reconfigured). Whilst this might not seem alot it would mean that you’d put quite a few more miles on the clock that you haven’t actually done by the time you take them off next year

v8ninety

Oh for goodness sake, it’ll be fine. You’ll hardly notice any difference in the look and most speedos are no where near that accurate anyway. (hence 10% + 2mph)

Mintman
    Free Member