Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Car tyre retreads/ remoulds
  • pullfaces
    Free Member

Just had to replace three tyres on a Vito. I never have more weight than three people and three bikes and do about 8000 miles a year so use car tyres – 17″ alloys (it’s what came with the van.)

Van has to drive:
    on building sites – I’m an electrician
    Up country lanes and forest tracks – I take it to mountain bike races and strange access sites occasionally.

One tyre worn, one split and another with nail in it.

So cutting to the chase. The guy I have always gone to only had two new Bridgestone Potenzas in that were right size. He could only offer me a Continetal remould for third. £35 – I gave him cash for it.
    He said he has them in because it’s what a lot of the licensed taxi drivers use in South London that go to him. One actually came and went whilst I was having three tyres changed.
    He also said I might be as well with it anyway as I ruin more tyres than I wear out. But he also doesn’t want to convert a customer who buys good new tyres off him. This is true, some building sites are not good places for pneumatic tyres.

So what I am after is, has anyone had first hand bad experiences of remoulds? Do they have a shelf life or anything?

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

can tyres on a van- does that not invalidate your insurance?

5lab

i think if the load rating is good they should be ok.

I run part-worns on my car, £20 a corner, including fitting. Don’t last as long as a normal tyre would, but its a reasonable compromise tbh

hora
    Free Member

a lot of the licensed taxi drivers use in South London

If I was doing 5-15mph around London for most of the time I’d use retreads.

If I was using motorways etc etc in a heavish commercial vehicle that I needed to rely on for work etc. I’d buy budget new tyres.

pullfaces
    Free Member