Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Camping advice please..starting from scratch.
  • rockhopper70

We are very mildly contemplating camping this year for a change.
    Had a look in Halfords and they had a sizeable 5 man tent for £150 ish (2 adults and 3 kids).
    Any advice for an absolute newbie as I fear coughing up lots of money for kit but not doing it right, therefore not enjoying it and then watching it all gather dust (or mould).
    Ta

Cougar
    ampthill

Priority one is sleeping bag, mats and tents. If you choose your weather you’ll get by with a cheap tent. But I think a warm sleeping bag is a tent

You could try a weekend with a cheap tent, blow up beds and duvets. Maybe a single burner stove and pans from the kitchen

I’m out of my depth. I’ve been equipped since the age of 8

I know try a camping pod as a stepping stone

http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/holidays/camping/camping-pods/

piemonster

I’d recommend not shopping at Halfords

muddydwarf
    Free Member

Avoid Halfords.

Try Go Outdoors, some nice tents for not much more than that.

We use a double air bed and a combination of double sleeping bag, blankets and duvet because MsD feels the cold below equatorial conditions 🙄
    Place a blanket between you and the airbed to retain heat.
    a double gas burner and a table to cook on make life a lot easier, we have a dedicated kitchen unit that is collapsible but they are a tad expensive.
    We have a Vango Icarus 500 with an additional awning, the awning makes all the difference to us as it effectively doubles the tent space.

Have fun!

LeeW

I live in the West Mids and have some kit if you want to borrow it. Cooker/gas bottle lanterns etc.

tried it, enjoyed it. Doubt We’ll go again.

Mantastic
    Free Member

Lee, me in the west mids also (Bewdley) anything you want to sell?

Camping….

As a teenager getting to grips with nature – frikkin awesome!

As an adult with wife, child and dog – not a bloody chance!

Ambrose