Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Camera recommendations
  • joepose
    Free Member

Complete novice requires a simple to use camera to take away on family holiday & usual weekend stuff (pics of the kids at the zoo etc).
    I have a compact camera but its embarrasing as everybody else seems to have the SLR type super zooms and stuff (I know how shallow this is by the way!).
    Any suggestions ideally in the £150 – £300 range?

Cheers

cloudnine
    Free Member

Have been looking at entry level dslr recently and the nikon d3100 is probably as cheap as you would want to go at around £300

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-Digital-Camera-18-55mm-14-2MP/dp/B00403MA4M

Why not a decent compact?

Grace
    Free Member

Just got my nephew a Fuji X10…amazing pics…and plenty of scope for getting more into photography…id stay clear of dslrs on basis that they are bulky and youll get bored of lugging it about…i have a dslr but dont use it since i bought an x100s…the best camera is the one you have with you!

joepose
    Free Member

Thanks cloudnine – wow thats some saving!
    Do compacts come with a zoomy thing lense?
    I didnt mention Im also the worst picture taker like ever so my thoughts are just take loads of pics very quickly and delete out all the bad shots 🙂

Cougar

The uncomfortable truth here is that a dSLR in and of itself will not take magically better pictures. A dSLR’s strength (well, one of them) is that it will afford you the ability to control exactly what your camera does; this is at odds with “Im also the worst picture taker like ever”. You can shoot everything full auto if you like but, well, you’re carrying a big, heavy, expensive camera around when something pocketable would suffice.