Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Calling All DSLR Experts
  • I_Ache
    Free Member

Right I'm new to this DSLR game I have recently got a Nikon D60 with the standard 18-55 kit lens and have managed also to pick up a 70-300 Nikkor lens from fleabay. The problem is that its MF only and the focus ring is a bit stiff which obviously makes it a bit difficult for fine focus adjustments.

My question is, how do I make it less stiff? would it be wise to strip the lens down taking pics for reassembly as I go or is there anything else I can do? I have no idea how lenses are put together so don't know if I can get to the focus gear(?) without having to remove any or all of the glass. I don't want to be paying a lot for a pro to clean it and am willing to give it a try myself with the help of a guide and some knowledge.

Thanks.

Pieface

WD40

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

you mean "lens repair experts" 🙂

I_Ache
    Free Member

Pieface my first thought was WD40. 😀

SFB Ok lens repair experts.

Know any?

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

I doubt an amateur could disassemble and reassemble a lens without finding 'spare parts' or not having it work ever again.

Depending on how much it is worth get it repaired, live with it, try to repair it or just bin it (which is what you will probably will end up doing if you try to repair it…)

snowpaul
    Free Member

i have repaired a number of film pentax lenses in the past – just be patient and methodical – suggest use a digi cam to take pics of parts removed in order to aid memoire !

i suspect theres grit or something to make lens feel stiff. Dont be too frightened to give it a go – get decent watch maker sized screw drivers and have a fiddle… worse case you bin it…

i have replaced bust elements in the past – lenses are just bits of glass and thin alloy tubes with a few sliding bits to get zoom etc – a good clean is most likely what it needs

paul

I_Ache
    Free Member