Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Cadence, power and heart rate
  • theotherjonv

I’m a geeky scientist, i admit it. And i like numbers and finding stuff out as much as wanting to optimise the output of this knowledge.

On zwift last night I did a workout (Gorby, for those that know) which is basically a warmup and then 5 repeat intervals of 5 mins at 110% FTP / 5 mins at 60% FTP.

But in these intervals i messed around a bit with cadence to attain the power output.

First one was at what felt the right cadence for me, which was ave 85 / HR 90% of max

2 – C = 97, HR = 93% – but felt much harder, really blowing by the end

3 – C = 80, HR = 90% – legs starting to burn but not breathing as hard

4 – C = 88, HR = 93% – hurting now, but may be more related to building fatigue

5 – C = 85, HR = 94% – but not reliable as I saved the last minute to try to ramp up so that cadence actual went from 80-110, and the HR went from 85% up to 99% – the others were much steadier around the averages.

I was most interested by the difference between 1-3, with ‘perceived wisdom’ being that spinning faster is better (Lance <cough> but also read Jens book and he targeted / averaged 104rpm for his hour record)

But for me trying to spin at even 95+, I felt I was working much harder than at say 80-85, even though the HR numbers don’t really show it – seems as if those extra few % put me from under to over my redline.

Any thoughts?

I know there will be folk that say don’t obsess, just ride at what suits you and they’re right but as i said I’m a geek and i like the science.

Is my sweetspot 80-85, and just accept it – it’s not as if it’s ridiculously low after all?

Or should i deliberately set out to train to spin that bit faster like LA/JV because in time it’ll make me more efficient?

legend
    Free Member

You can’t just jump up to a faster cadence as your muscles aren’t used to working like that, got to build up to it.

FWIW I tend to live at 95-100RPM

theotherjonv