Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Buying an older top spec bike?
  • slippertip
    Free Member

Hi all,

I’ve got the opportunity to buy a used 2002 Gary Fisher Paragon hard tail through a friend of a friend and I’d be really grateful if you could advise me if it’s still a good buy or not given its age and price.

I’m a relative newbie to mountain biking in terms of knowing what I’m talking about though I do ride every day on an old muddy Fox from my youth so am in need of an upgrade.

It’s the exact model as per the following links:

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B…agon&Type=bike

http://www.bicyclebluebook.com/searc….aspx?id=37448

It also has the following upgrades according to this mutual friend who emailed me the spec:
    ” Shimano lx & xtr derailiers
    Bontrager racelite cranks & chainwheels
    Bontrager racelite wheels & Tyres
    Bongrager racelite stem (upgrade)
    Manitou mars elite air/oil forks (Inc. Maintenance pump)
    Avid single digit 5 brakes
    Easton monkeylite xc carbon bars (upgrade)
    Use alien carbon seat post (upgrade)
    Hope headset ( upgrade)”

Although I haven’t seen the bike in person I’ve been sent a couple of pictures and my own friend who has seen it says it’s in immaculate condition.

The seller friend of a friend is asking for £200 though I’m told he will most likely let it go for £150.

I don’t mind buying an older bike and from my own research I can see that it was the top gary fisher model at the time but what I would like advising on is if an older bike is still worth buying or could I get a newer bike with similar quality or more advanced components for the same amount of money (still used and around £250 and under)?

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks, Jon.

eskay

Could always by a £150 brand new bike from halfords instead! Sounds like a nice bike.

cheers_drive