Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Burping with Ghetto and Maxxis Crossmarks. or are they just cr@p tyres?
  • Vortexracing

Right guys i’ve been using ghetto on my 719D rims for about 2 months. Ive got maxxis crossmarks tyres with no problems at all.

Haven’t used them at any trial centres, but seem to work well for DRY natural stuff. Went to Penmachno on Thursday and had 3 off’s in the first 4 miles!!

The last off was quite a biggy, after recovering from being winded I looked at the front tyre and it had deflated and had a split in it, so after re-inflating, it was a gentle and sore ride to the car via the fireroads.

The front just washed out instantly and without warning, my question is could the tyre have burped and that caused it or are the crossmark’s not very good on the front when it gets damp?

The fact that I came off the trail in such a short distance 3 times is probably an indication that something wasn’t gripping as is it should and to make matters worse because I was on my own I never push to 100% so although not pottering along I wasn’t caning it either.

Never had this with my High Rollers on DTswiss kits in my 5.1 rims or when using Kenda BG/Nevegals.

Causes could have been

1) Burping causing the tyre to deflate
    2) Split in tyre with same result as before
    3) Crap tyres that give no indication they are about to let go

opinons please

cheers, a very sore and grazed Dave

WorldClassAccident
    Free Member

I ran Maxxis Crossmax tubeless on the back of my 96er for one ride. It burped any time it was put under stress such as a heavy landing or hitting a root. Replaced it with whatever I am running now. I can’t remember what that is but not a tubeless specific tyre and had no problems.

WorldClassAccident
    Free Member

Not problems witht he Maxxis Ignitor 29″ on the front.

jimthesaint