Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Bunnyhops. How?
  • RustySpanner

Have been practicing for nearly 40 years and I’ve almost got it cracked. 😀
    I can get both wheels off the floor, just not at the same time.

Every time I read an explanation in a mag, I patiently follow all the steps, but it’s just not happening.

Go on, talk me through it one last time.

grievoustim
    Free Member

I’m no expert – but I can do a reasonable hop on a good day. Lost confidence a bit recently so have been practicing

IMO getting the back wheel up is all in the arms – pushing the bike away from you whilst the front wheel is in the air. Point your toes and allow your legs to suck up into your body at the same time

Lots of guides talk about “scooping” up the back wheel with your feet. This is not quite right – I think the push with the bars is far more important

crikey
    Free Member

2 ways.
    1.) the ‘proper’ way using hands on the bars and flat pedals involves pulling up and/or unweighting the front wheel, then a kind of scoopy flicky thing with the feet, essentially a two stage process.

2.) the ‘cheating/saddo’ way involves riding clipless pedals and pulling up with hands and feet at the same time.

I can do the number 2 way easily, and am massively not arsed about the other way.

Junkyard
    Free Member

2 is easy and 1 involves getting the front wheel higher than you think

I can get way higher and longer with one than two

jonahtonto
    Free Member

stand over your bike (static) and put your back foot on the pedal. using no brakes hook the back of the bike up.
    you will feel an odd group of muscles being used. now you know what that muscle pull feels like do it while rolling along (back wheel only)
    once you can roll along repeatedly doing small brakeless endos, do them while lifting the front at the same time.
    forget doing large two stage bunnyhops for another 40 yrs

jonahtonto
    Free Member