Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Broadband without the BT line – what are my options??
  • Kojaklollipop
    Free Member

So we’re thinking we could do without the BT landline as we never use it to make calls we only have it to have broadband, we have unlimited on our mobiles, so to cut down on expenses we thought can we get rid of the landline and it’s rental charges, but what are the options for having broadband? I’m no tech expert and there seems to be a lot of options out there, I’m guessing some sort of fibre optic cable – but I don’t think we have that in our area, or mobile broadband – but I’m guessing that could be slower and depends on signal?

Anyone done this can can recommend a good provider, do you still get good connections, any problems?

Don’t think we need a TV package as we tend not to watch much but would be good to stream films??

ourmaninthenorth

Virgin
    Fibre to the Premises (FTTP from the handful of ISPs that offer it – not the same as BT Infinity or similar products)
    Satellite
    Mobile

The thing about the line rental, is that it’s not for making calls – it’s the same line that your broadband comes down. You paty line rental because the lines are rented by the ISPs (including BT Retail) from BT Openreach.

Cougar

http://www.samknows.com will tell you what cable / LLU providers service your property. If Virgin isn’t amongst them then you’re snookered for all practical purposes.

Satellite can be fast but has horrific latency (because your data has to go into geostationary orbit and back). 3G might be suitable for lower usage, with a sensible data plan?

hammyuk
    Free Member

Basically only Virgin :-/
    BUT – high installation costs, etc put me off.
    I searched for a long time and there is no real choice – they have you by the balls…
    I went with EE as an existing customer and paid the line rental upfront.
    £2.50 per month BB and £11 line rental.