Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Brighton riders. Building trails in Stanmer Park?
  • empika
    Free Member

Hallo

I’m looking at building a new trail in Stanmer Park. I’m new to building trails so have been searching the forum for any advice and tips etc. Two things that have come up again and again are a) get permission from the landowner and b) don’t tread on other peoples toes.

So, to address the first issue, does anyone know who to get in contact with to get permission? It looks like Stanmer is council land, so I guess the downland rangers would be a good place to start or is it ok in Stanmer just to go at it? (within reason of course, im not building 10ft doubles or anything).

Secondly, the area I would like to build a trail is about here http://j.mp/dtNbLE (google map), on this fairly steep slope, towards the pylon end of it. It looks like someone else has started building something at the the other end as there is a lone wooden bridge going over a big log, it seems the rest has not really been completed yet or is old and has become unmaintained.
    So, any objections to building here?
    Im thinking of a fast straight-down-the-fall-line start into a long zigzaggy affair with burmey corners down to the bottom, littered with a few small log rolls and small jumps.

Also, any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Ooh, I should also mention I’d like to starting cleaning up some of the other trails in Stanmer, replacing rolled out/rotten logs and trail markers, building berms back up etc. So if anyone has any bits they’d like to see maintained better i’ll check them out.

Thanks!

bigsi
    Free Member