Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Bikepacking/ long distance walks….sleep mat. Neo air reviews
  • brack
    Free Member

Hello all.

I do loads of trips (not the acid type), walks, bike, light bivi runs,backpacking holidays etc.

I have been using a thermarest 3/4 lite for several years and to be honest it has served me well..but on a recent 2 week trip to Slovenia, I just did not look forward to sleeping on it each night.

So ive been on the look for a replacement. Going bigger is not an option as I still want something that packs down small and weighs little.

Ive been looking at the Thermarest Neo air – any experiences ?

At a stocky 5 ft 10 what size ? Ive seen a few reviews stating that the womens version offers the best compromise of weight/ size.

timidwheeler

I have no experience of Neo air but I have an Exped downmat and an exped ultra light synmat. They are both excellent. They also do a downmat UL as well.

http://www.facewest.co.uk/Exped-Downmat-UL.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=facewestFroogle

Edit – just saw this not sure if it is any use
    http://www.facewest.co.uk/Rollmats-Comparison-Chart.html

peterfile
    Free Member

Neo Air won’t be warm enough if it’s really cold.

The Exped Downmat 7 Ultralite is absolutely awesome

Packs down to 9 x 4.3, but is 70 x 20 x 3.5 when inflated. Is R5.9 for warmth and wait for it….565g!

Warm, comfy, lightweight and packs small.

Will cost you about £100 though.

Go for the Synmat Ultralite if you don’t plan on using it in particularly cold weather – it’s cheaper but has a much lower R rating.

LadyGresley
    Free Member

The Vaude Norrsken is another option – similar to the Neo-Air, but it does have some insulation. Packs very small and very light.

orangetoaster
    Free Member