Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Bike theft threads – Recommend me a garage CCTV system
  • snownrock

Three threads on the front page this morning with poor folks having bikes pilfered.

Can anyone recommend a decent home CCTV system? I would be looking for a two camera system, one outside and one in the garage (internal). Something that can record 7 days or so? I’m new to this so advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

nickjb
    Free Member

What do you want from the CCTV? Recording alone won’t be that useful. If you go for a connected system then you can get alerts to your phone if something happens. Probably not that useful if you are away (unless you have friendly and burly neighbours) but useful if you are home and the garage is detached. You will need a network connection. There’s loads of systems now from cheap Chinese IP cameras to posh ones that integrate with your other smart tech. What’s the budget?

snownrock

As per OP, its an internal garage. I have no other smart tech, planning on installing with the Yale Wireless Alarm system Screwfix. Not too interested on getting alerts on phone, if we’re away there’s not much we can do about it is there? Budget around £200?

angeldust
    Free Member

Arlo works, if wireless is important. Budget will be an issue.

rone

Arlo has been great for me. Had it for 2 years. A couple of bugs every now and again but the free subscription is good for 7 days of material.

If you’re on holiday and it wakes you up and there is a crime in progress – ring the cops!

I had a minor attempted break-in to my garage 2 years ago (pre-security) and everyone said they would be back. Put cameras up and D2D lights, and not heard a peep since.

darrenspink
    Free Member

Speaking from friends experience, I have to say that CCTV is pretty useless preventing theft. Spend your money on them not being actually being able to get in there in the first place.