Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 57 total)
  • BHF SDW in a day
  • cobrakai

Roll call?

Its my first attempt so after some advice.

With a choice between my old trek 26in hard tail and T130s, I’m going for comfort with the full suss. I’m running nobby nics at the moment and I’ve had 1 puncture in 5 months so I’m confident in there hard wearing but they don’t roll too great in the dry! Any durable fast rolling tyres you would recommend?

dovebiker

Schwalbe Smart Sams are cheap and quite fast rolling

Wally

First timer here too and also after advice. Mavic Pulse 2.1 on a lightweight short travel FS for me.

jeff1155

First timer for the full 100 mile route here too, I did the 35 mile route last year and I’m seriously contemplating using my Calibre Dune for seated comfort and grip (4.0″ Jumbo Jims) on the climbs over my FF29 (2.3″ Racing Ralphs) which is faster and has more room in the cockpit – I’m mixing the two on the training rides to see which is best – it should be the latter, but….

I’d go for comfort first and foremost – you’ll be on the bike for 10-12 hours, there’s a limit to how long you can stop for a rest, and you’re not going to go anywhere quick with a sore butt or stiff neck, wrists etc. There’s not that much technical climbing, so you can always get off and push for a few yards on the really rooty rocky stuff, but there is a lot of climbing – my fat bike is heavier than the FF29 but I don’t notice it when climbing and I suspect the traction makes up for any difference.

How’s your training going?