Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Best way to buy shares? Absolute beginner
  • philconsequence
    Free Member

What’s the best way to buy a small amount of shares…. In one company and with the intention of not selling them for at least a couple of years? No shares already held, and willing to loose the money of course as any share buying is a gamble (under no illusions that the value will only go up)… No experience of this as you can tell!

Cheers for any advice 🙂

thekingisdead
    Free Member

For the absolute beginner I’d recommend a fund (ISA?) of some sort (there are hundreds…good luck choosing :-)) The potential returns will match the risk you are willing to take.

IMO, drip feeding monthly is the best way if you’re serious about long term investing. Any falls in prices over the short term lower your average unit price.

But I’d read up first (quite a lot) before investing any money. And I’d only invest after I’d have the recommended 6 months take home pay in cash (for me personally)

tails
    Free Member

http://www.hl.co.uk/

http://www.lse.co.uk/

I have not bought yet, but was advised these two, the top one do the donkey work the bottom is a forum with other info, don’t always take the forum advice as the truth.

You investing in costa cruise liners?? tesco took a hit the other day.

HTTP404
    Free Member
    philconsequence
    Free Member

Just 500pounds and definitely not costa haha

robbieh
    Free Member

what about premium bonds? at least you don,t lose your stake. I have some and only not won 2mths out of the 13mths i’ve had them.

skaifan
    Free Member

When buying and selling shares there is a transaction fee. I use a halifax share dealing account. Its £11.95 when you purchase shares, and £11.95 when you sell. On top of that, you will pay stamp duty on both purchase and sale, so just to recoup your costs with £500 you will have to make around 5%. The company you invest in will need to increase by 15% just to make £50.