Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Arthistoriantrackworld
  • yunki
    Free Member

I’m being interviewed for the local rag this afternoon on the Free Art Friday movement which I know a little about, but I’m interested in the history of the concept..

My google fu is not great this morning, doubly hampered by a knackered keyboard and mouse pad

Does anyone know of any periods in the history of art or of any great artists from the 20th century or earlier that were known for giving away art to the public?

Equally.. What the blinking nora should I be typing into google to find this sort of info?

perchypanther
    Free Member

Banksie innit!

yunki
    Free Member

yeah.. I’m looking at pre-banksy really.. I’m pretty genned up on the graffiti movement.. 🙂

STATO
    Free Member

And we wonder why newspapers are so full of rubbish, even the ‘experts’ the incompetent journalists interview dont have clue 😀

yunki
    Free Member

I’m not an expert.. thankfully, and I don’t think for a minute that the old biddies in the local arts group are expecting one either!

I’m being interviewed as an artist.. but I’m trying to make the interview a bit more interesting..
    ‘I likes fridays, and I likes making art and I likes giving stuff away’ is gonna make a pretty dull read no?

Although I suspect that I may be an expert by the end of the week 🙂

You try finding an expert on free economies and the importance of art outside of the market economy on damp afternoon amidst the somnambulistic torpor of a dreary seaside town

maccruiskeen

It’ll be a 70s thing. There was a rebellion against the gallery/dealer/patron system in the 70s and its where a lot of art forms that are for the ‘public’ rather than for the ‘patron’ come from. So its where a lot of the art forms that take art out of the frame / off of the plinth and out of the gallery come from