Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Anyone ride singlespeed on Dartmoor?
  • julioflo
    Free Member

I am finding I have less and less time for bike tinkering, I know I’m going to have even less in the new year. I’ll also have less funds for consumables. So I just want a bike I can get on and go, no worries. Therefore I intend to build a SS 29er in the New Year. Thing is I live on the edge of Dartmoor, so all of my riding is on the moor. I haven’t seen anyone else singlespeeding in the moor & a typical Dartmoor ride invokes a lot of climbing. But primarily I like to just cover some ground.

Oh, it may also be rigid so I don’t have to worry about servicing forks.
    Am I mad?

jam-bo

Seen a couple of people but you’ve got to be strong.

I run 1×10 and that’s ok for me.

yunki
    Free Member

I imagine you’ll be doing a fair bit of pushing, I’m no expert on the subject but it sounds iffy to me..

Rigid on the other hand is ace on the moor..

singlespeedstu

Birchy seemed to be fine on his when he guided me on Dartmoor.
    I’d have taken one of mine but a was falsley warned not to by someone. 😕

yunki
    Free Member

ah well.. that’s me told *swoon*

singlespeedstu

yunki.

I thought you knew/had riden with Birchy?

yunki
    Free Member

I’ve been invited along a few times but I’m just too shy.. 😳

I’d love to see it done, I’ve been sat here now thinking of where I could manage to ride singlespeed up there.. not many places spring to mind

chapeaux and all that 😀

Burchy1
    Free Member

Cheers Stu 🙂

There’s only one climb we ride a lot (out from the river/dingley dell towards hound tor) that is a bit much, but even that is doable with a couple of stops if conditions/legs/lungs are all aligned.

I run 32:16 as I also ride Haldon a fair bit which has easier fireroad climbs but you could of course, go lower (29er ratios obviously but I know nothing about them ;))

singlespeedstu

He did have to push up one climb.