Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 54 total)
  • Anyone else still on Avid BB7's?
  • bomberman
    Free Member

I was looking at some of those fancy hydraulic brakes just out of interest earlier since i’ve not been paying much attention to mountain biking stuff recently and noticed a lot of hydraulic brakes get mixed reviews. I haven’t had a single problem with the BB7’s so far and i’ve been running the same set since 2007! I even have a spare caliper in the toolbox waiting just in case.

Is anyone else resisting the temptation to “upgrade” to hydraulics or am i still the only guy riding around the Peak District with cable disc brakes?

IHN

I had BB7s until not very long ago, when I bought some new XTs. To be honest, I probably should have saved my money.

MoreCashThanDash

Have BB7s on the CX commuter. 4,000 miles with no problems, still on original pads, certainly can’t see why hydraulics would be worth the upgrade.

On my MTB, suspect I’d stick to hydraulics as that what comes with most bikes and groupsets. When I build up Jnrs first disc brake nine he may get BB7s or similar.

scotroutes

Two sets

Del

have gone back to bb7 from hayes. took them to the alps on my 5 last time i went and they were great. ride all day. ‘click’, ‘click’, oil the chain, clean the wiper seals, good to go.

damascus
    Free Member

I use bb7s and I find them to be perfect for my commutter bike. Fit and forget (almost)

I think when you run a 25mm Tyre on tarmac better brakes won’t make that much difference. You have such little contact on the road that any more just skids.

ton

got em on mine and the wifes bike..love em.
    only brake to better them is a shimano saint…which is a bit of a overkill for most folk.

epicyclo

The nice thing about BB7s is they just keep on working the same. And if you want to upgrade, simply get better cables.

I’ve had a lot of fancy expensive hydraulics and I’ll take BB7s over them any day.

drofluf
    Free Member