• This topic has 15 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by DezB.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Anyone else got a problem with authority?
  • PracticalMatt
    Free Member

I've spent the last two years effectivly self managing on a project that allows me a lot of indipendant work and out of office visits to users of the project.
    My old line manager was very much of the lassaiz faire school of thought and occasionally took me for a coffee and chat but basically left me alone.

Now I'm under a new manager who keeps asking questions and requiring updates and explanations of my working practises. Every time I take it as a criticism and find myself getting furious. Before i was put on this project I was a an uber effcient gopher but that job at the time was very ordered and required litttle multi tasking.

Now I juggle a veritable huricane of admin and requests from all sides in a job that in other areas (I work in the public sector) is done by a whole team. I have reached national recognition in my field so think I might know what I'm doing and do welcome helpful input from people who also know the area of work, I just don't like having it questioned by an outsider.

Basically does anyone else have a near unreasonable inability to deal with authority and if so how do you temper it. I don't want to mess up my career but can't help getting tetchy and deffensive every time I'm asked a question.

lobby_dosser
    Free Member

I find it difficult to work with certain managers, especially if they try and micro-manage me or I spend more time updating them rather than doing the work.

Trust and getting to know each others way of working may improve. Or you may need to look for another manager.

Surf-Mat
    Free Member

Matt – good managers are very very rare IMO. Sometimes you can't do anything right – do well and the manager gets jealous, do badly and you get fired.