Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Anyone done an open university degree?
  • loddrik
    Free Member

A family member is thinking about doing one. Would be interested to hear the experiences of people who have done one and how it combined with work/family etc?

Thanks in advance.

bowglie

In a word….Tough! I did mine before the advent of interweb and social media and spent about 5 or 6 years studying whilst working full time and commuting at least 1.5 hours a day. The coursework was interesting, but the volume of work got very stressful
    with full time work – a supportive family really helps. I was taking coursework with me on almost every holiday, so that I didn’t fall behind.

On the plus side, I found it really interesting and very rewarding – especially when I was told that 2/3 of people don’t make the distance for a science degree. Since I did my degree, I gather the way the OU teaches has really moved on with the internet etc. I think things like tutorials and study groups are all online now, and it’s much easier to keep in touch with fellow students. One of the stand out things for me was the quality of teaching at the OU. After completing my OU degree, I ended up going full time to a redbrick Uni, and I was pretty shocked at the poor standard of teaching and student support. Some of the things I was being taught by the OU were years ahead of the stuff that the redbrick lecturers were teaching. I think the difference with the OU is that a lot of the lecturers have worked outside academia, and/or have previously studied with the OU. A couple of ex-colleagues of mine were part time OU tutors and they were both at or near the top of their game – both very sharp and professional.

I would recommend OU as a route to a degree, but (particularly if working full time with kids) I would advise being realistic about the amount of time that can be regularly set aside for study.

HTH

centralscrutinizer
    Free Member