• This topic has 9 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by hugo.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Anybody a regular crossfitter?
  • leebaxter
    Free Member

Has anybody done crossfit for a bit of winter training, and noticed any benefits on the bike?

wallop

I’ve been doing it for about 3 months, and I’ve definitely noticed that I’ve got stronger legs. Bit more explosive power, which is nice. The real tell will be in spring I think, as I tend not to ride as much over the winter.

But prepare for the crossfit haters… they’ll be along any minute 😆

footflaps

I’m a pseudo crossfitter, I train in their boxes but just do Olympic weight lifting, not their WoDs.

Like any sport, if you get a good Box with good coaches it will be good fun and get you fit.

dirtyrider
    Free Member

there would be a sticky in size 72 font, at the top of the page if there was any in

leebaxter
    Free Member

As far as I can see in my one crossfit session, there are a few to many exercises that will not make me a faster cyclist. To many sit-ups, chin ups and above the head lfts. There are way to many acronyms, and young dudes to willing to exercise with their shirts off. I wonder if any top enduro racers do a bit of crossfit?.

wrecker
    Free Member

Being fitter and stronger isn’t going to do any harm is it?
    As footflaps says, make sure you choose a gym…erm box with good instructors….erm coaches.

wallop

there are a few to many exercises that will not make me a faster cyclist.

Better does not necessarily mean faster.

footflaps

As far as I can see in my one crossfit session, there are a few to many exercises that will not make me a faster cyclist

And you really think you can properly assess a fitness regime based on a single experience?