Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Any Tree Surgeons in the (tree) house?
  • ShoePolice
    Free Member

How easy / difficult is it to become a tree surgeon in terms of training needed, supply and demand of jobs / work, setting up alone vs working for a company? And I’m assuming work is seasonal, but does it completely dry up in Winter?

damion
    Free Member

Hello,

I’ve just dropped out of the tree business after 7 years. Its a hard job but sometimes the best job.

Work’s pretty much all year, lows over christmas as you’d expected, and during nesting season in the spring.

Its becoming more and more of a competitive market out there, not one I’d want to be starting out in with the current climate. If you can get a job with a firm, I definitely would to start.

Training? I did a National Diploma, which included all the relevant NTPC tickets. At a minimum you’ll need Chainsaw Maintenance & Small trees. Then Climbing & Aerial Rescue followed by Chainsaw from a rope and harness. Then there’s medium & large trees, reductions, dismantles, MEWP use, chipper use……….

You can get all of the minimum tickets in about a month if your keen, but its only after that you start to learn, and they say it’ll be at least two years of solid climbing before you become competent.

Get yourself over to arbtalk.co.uk for a feel of the industry.

On days like today I really miss it. Most other days, I’m glad to be behind a desk.

philconsequence
    Free Member

WHAT KIND OF MONSTER KILLS TREES?!?!?!

😯

wors

Sorry for the hijack, what would you say is a reasonable price to get rid of 2 silver birch trees around 60/70 ft tall?

beanieripper
    Free Member