Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Any project managers / event planners on here?
  • chameleon78
    Free Member

What software do you use to plan stuff? Microsoft project?
    How do you go about your day to day planning & communicating your plan with others?

I'm fairly new to planning on this scale but I'm in charge of planning labour and vehicles at the moment, with a little production planning too.
    Currently using excel to create the plans but struggling to create something that ticks all the boxes while remaining flexible. I'm trying to avoid duplicating work and ideally would like one central master document to work from.

Any advice would be appreciated.

hainey
    Free Member

Microsoft Project is one of the best tools you can use. A lot of people hate it but if it is set up correctly then it is great and low maintenance to keep running.

I have used many different ways of communicating the plan including:

Filtered views of the plan based on task, commodity, critical path, etc etc (can take a bit of explanation)

Summaries in word or powerpoint of key dates etc. (high maintenance to keep updating).

I have in the past created an excel spreadsheet where you can take a dump out of project, pop it into excel and with the use of some macros etc show a colour coded view of the project tasks, start and finish dates and whether you are on track or behind schedule. Its a good visual to use.

Each to their own at the end of the day.

tomhughes46

This is free http://live.gnome.org/Planner/

But Project is better

earbyphil
    Free Member

After a good few years as a Project Manager the best all-round package I found was indeed Microsoft Project. If you dig into Project you will find a few "nice" things to help with running a project.