Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Any money experts £ to $
  • nathb
    Free Member

So today I was going to do two things:

1) $800 for a trip I’m taking to NYC on the 28th October (the rest is on travel credit card)
    2) Pay $500 invoice for a chinese carbon frame

Opinions; buy now or wait it out? 🙄

Drac

Time travel back to April before the economy was destroyed by those with blinkers.

HughStew

Can you afford to do it now?
    If so why take the risk, you might win you might lose.

Edit: I am not an expert, but experts in the area of economics are often wrong too.

CHB

Four months ago things looked stable. Two weeks ago I thought things had hit their low point. Then Teresa announced march for Brexit and since then our currency has hit lows I never thought possible. Can it go lower?? I don’t see how, but I also would not rule it out. We are (yep…still are, just) a key part of and a stabiliser of Europe. We have announces we are taking our bat and ball home. I think we will look back on late 2016 as the calm before the storm. 🙁 Not happy. So get your currency whenever, it’s not likely to get much better or worse for any particular reason in the days ahead.

richc
    Free Member

Personally I wouldn’t wait it out; as whilst it might get better in the short term, long term will get much worse as it looks like the $ = £ predictions are becoming more likely.

nathb
    Free Member

Yeah I’ve just seen this quote:

“Secondly, and perhaps most damningly, HSBC issued a pretty bleak statement claiming that, as the ‘defacto official opposition to the government’s [Brexit] policies’, the pound could well find itself circling $1.10 by the end of the year.”

Crap, forget time traveling to a few months ago. Last week it would have only cost me £385 for the $504 invoice instead of the £417 today! 😯

tonyg2003