• This topic has 30 replies, 16 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by aP.
Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Any architects in the house son needs help with his university course
  • mcdonagh2962
    Free Member

My son has failed one of his questions for his university course the question is ,

Why should architecture have a theoretical concern at all and I f there is substance as to why, what should be of concern? Offer your insights on the position of XXXXXX in response to is this question, and compare to your own position on the matter.

XXXXXXX: choose from
    Etienne-Louis Boulle
    Charles Moore
    Denise Scott Brown
    Juhani palasmaa
    Steven Holl

Any help would be appreciated

lesgrandepotato

Well I’m a software architect so hopelessly inadequate for the task at hand. However… I’d start this by studying the work of the above to get the background to the question. They will all have something in common. This will give you the basis of an answer to the above.

mcdonagh2962
    Free Member

Thanks for any help given

plyphon
    Free Member

If only there was an institution you could go to, and pay someone with the expert knowledge to teach you

pleaderwilliams
    Free Member

What was your son’s answer?

aP
    Free Member

He needs to say “yes” theoretical concerns are important, after all he’s at an academic institution. All the architects named are either well known for theoretical architecture or for being theoretical built architects. He needs to look at all of them and decide which one most appeals (or possibly better – which one doesn’t).
    I’m assuming that he’s got a month to answer this, so he needs to get researching now.

martinhutch

Your son needs to learn to produce his own bullshit to order. He’ll need that quality fully honed in his chosen profession.

crikey
    Free Member

Theoretical architecture?

Is that like ‘I know it’s raining, but imagine how lovely the roof is…’