Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Alfine bikes…
  • ontor
    Free Member

As I have just ripped the mech off the 456 and trashed the rear wheel I was wondering about fitting an alfine 8 hub so, any experiences please?
    Also – there’s the genesis, on one, anything else alfine off the peg?

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Been a fair bit of discussion of Alfines on here – have a search.

I have one – an 8 spd.

Its only the range of a 1×9 setup and it concentrates weight in the rear hub. However it is reliable and just works. a bit draggy in some gears and some shift can be a bit slow.

I like it however.

ontor
    Free Member

thanks TJ, I’ve read a lot of the posts on here & I’m not to bothered about draggy, Im after the “just works” bit really.

Mackem

Yeah, it just works. Any frame suitable for one-speed is suitable for Alfine. I have a Chumba HX1 which has an EBB.

The cabling is a lot tidier now BTW.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I have a Genesis IOID

You can fit the alfine in any frame using a tensioner. The 11 speeds seem to have some reliability issues – the 8 speeds far less so.

Like most shimano products tho spares are not available – the only spare is a complete new cluster – you cannot buy individual parts if something breaks

highclimber
    Free Member

I hired a bike with one on (8sp) and it constantly didn’t pick up and I nearly went over the bars on a number of times when it dropped out. would randomly select gears or not when I wanted it. Put me right off getting one. that said I liked it when it worked with instant pick up and being able to change gear without that horrible crunching you get with mech anf cassette and it was a hire bike after all though I was surprised that it happened given a lot of people rave about them

epicyclo

You can also fit the Alfine on a frame with ordinary vertical dropouts by using what the single speed crowd call a magic ratio.