Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Advanced CRB check – what actually shows up?
  • devash
    Free Member

I’m applying for a couple of teaching positions in further education colleges (I’m a university lecturer / researcher by trade but teaching positions are now few and far between and the college / further education sector is actually now a better paid option) and due to the fact that I’ll be working with people under the age of 18, an advanced CRB / disclosure is required.

I have two spent cautions on my record for stupid things that happened as a teenager. The first one was when a mate and I got were drunk one night and accidentally broke a window, we admitted it and paid for the damage but still got a caution for criminal damage.

The second one was when I wrote off my car three months after passing my test. It wasn’t even a bad crash, no injuries or anything, I called the police voluntarily (because I didn’t know you don’t need to call them if there has been no damage to property and the car isn’t blocking the road) speed had nothing to do with it (bad / wet conditions) and it was more down to inexperience than anything else. The police still gave me a caution for ‘driving without due care and attention’ which in retrospect was a bit harsh.

All this happened within a year (aged 18). Typical stuff that happens to you when you are a teenager. I’ve had a basic CRB check for one job and neither of these two showed up, but there seems to be some ambiguity over whether I’ll need to put these down on a job application that requires an advanced disclosure.