Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • ADSL filter question
  • jamesgarbett
    Free Member

Do they just stop working for some reason? Why would that be?

GrahamS

I think they have capacitors in them. Caps can go pop after a while. (Especially ultra cheap low quality ones)

daniel_owen_uk
    Free Member

Swap it for a proper faceplate if you are having to buy something, hate those dangly things. Might squeeze a little more speed too.

burko73

Hijack….

I have a bt master socket that’s got a removable faceplate. I have a fixed extension socket in there I just wired in and our router plugs into that via a ISP supplied filter. Tinternet slow the other night, ISP says change filter, filter changed and things seem ok.

What’s the alternative to these cheap nasty filters? Also the cheap nasty extension box kits that places like b&q sell. Would I just be better buying some good cat 5 cable and some sort of good quality socket with a filter already built in?

bigyinn
    Free Member

Yes filters can fail without warning. ISP will often suggest replacement as they’re cheap and easy to swap out.
    You can get built in filter faceplates, obviously they cost more than the seperate filters, but they do exactly the same thing.
    You can easily wire a fitted extension into the master socket (wire into the back of the faceplate). Pins 2 + 5 only need connecting and you just run the cable where you want it and fit and extension socket.

deadkenny
    Free Member

Same as daniel_owen_uk says basically, swap it for a proper faceplate.