Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Adobe Illustratorists – Reproduction sticker artwork help needed
  • kayak23

Yo.

I’m in the process of getting a frame powder coated and I want to reproduce the original frame stickers in Illustrator/Photoshop so that I can get them produced by a sticker company(The frame company say they can’t help me with this)

I’ve asked a company I usually go to for this but because it’s a rarer brand, they don’t have anything on file and say it’s too much work for a one-off…

I have Photoshop and Illustrator and so have been trying to reproduce the text from images online and images I have taken of the actual text on my frame before it was stripped, but I’m drawing a blank.
    This is really because the images I can find are quite low resolution and so Illustrator is doing weird things to it when I try to Image Trace it for example.

I’m not experienced in Illustrator hardly at all really so I’d really appreciate it if anyone can give me a quick idea of the sort of things I can try to get the best result.

Below are the images/text/logos I am trying to reproduce.

Production Privee text (minus the PP graphic), which goes either side of the seat tube.

Headtube badge

This little badge on both sides on the seat stays.

This ‘OKA’ which goes behind the seattube under the clamp
    [url=https://flic.kr/p/22ioYMo]Oka decal details[/url] by kayak23, on Flickr

Then a couple of these little ones on the chainstays
    [url=https://flic.kr/p/DJax9K]Untitled[/url] by kayak23, on Flickr

I’ve tried opening the images in Photoshop and smoothing them etc, etc, then doing an image trace in Illustrator but it just doesn’t seem to work very well and tends to distort the font making it look a bit weird.

This is the sort of thing I’m getting with Image Trace in Illustrator.
    The imported image is above(as you can see, the resolution isn’t great) and the image trace result is below.