Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • achillies problems
  • trail_rat
    Free Member

Right ive been to 2 different physios and a sports massage therapist with this one.

Basially i had an issue in my left achillies which Felt like achillies tendonitus.

If i jumped on my bike and rode off it hurt like a bitch. I spent 3 weeks off the bike and at physio she said tendonitus. advised that i stretch and keep moving , walking , biking etc the pain never went away till i ran 18 miles. After that i never heard a peep out of my left achillies tendon. Still fine to this day that was in march. Shortly after that i went off to do a race and my right achillies and knee right where the it band rubs on the knub at the side of the knee and my hip joint all started to give me bother. I thought It band tension and again physio and she diagnosed Tendonitus in that achillies and pretty much ignored my knee and hip as they were pretty minor pain that went away with use.

No im no expert but ive had tendonitus in the distant past and know that if you were to use a tendon with tendonitus in it for say oh a 300k audax you would be crippled.

Strangely i feel better after having used my achillies. Ie today ive done 90k …it was mildly painful when on the bike , soon as i get off its as good as new ! which as you can imagine is doing my nut in , its doing the physios nut in and the sports massage doesnt seem to help either.

Been stretching my it bands especially well and doing all sorts of other leg and hipflexor stretches, been doing calf raises excentric and linear. Keeping well hydrated and fed

Any other ideas , anyone had anything similar ?

One thing ive changed since i got back into racing (having been touring exclusively for 3 months) was my cadence , is it possible that going from a cadence of about 50 during touring to a cadence of 90-110 rpm could cause this (although ive always been a singlespeeder and fixie rider so should in theory be used to high cadence)