Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • A short feel-good story.
  • mcmoonter
    Free Member

So I’m on the phone to my niece in France, she tells me she’s going on a school trip to Germany and asks if I can help with the costs. Whereabouts? I ask. Bochum, she replies. This is where it gets exciting. Shortly after I graduated from the Edinburgh College of Art, my work was included in an international touring exhibition, Germinations. It went to Marseilles, Breda, Bonn and London. I was shortlisted for an award on it. When the show was in Bonn, one of my large paintings, Lovers on a Bicycle, was bought by the Art Museum in Bochum.

My niece had had a tough life with my bipolar sister for a mother and no idea who her father is. My sister is a painter too, which adds another level of insecurity into their lives.

Laurie was ecstatic and can’t wait to ask her teacher if she can visit, she thinks the museum was already on their itinerary. The painting may well be in a cupboard somewhere, but it made us both really happy.

SaxonRider

Not much to say to that, other than nice coincidence and good story!

kimbers

that is actually a cool story, bro

do you have a pic of your pic?

mcmoonter
    Free Member

willard

I like, but feel that using a 650b as the subject would really have brought it alive.

jamj1974

So let me get this straight…

– You make ace sheds
    – You have a really stunning house
    – You come across a a really nice guy
    – You can paint as well

You git!

🙂

kcal

🙂

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

That’s a load of Pollocks.

Or at least partially influenced by him. 😉

Pook

Logos don’t line up

cynic-al
    Free Member

Pete do you only provide funding for neice’s trips to certain parts of Geormany?

😉 😛

mcmoonter
    Free Member

Al, I promised I’d take her to California this summer. She’ll be fourteen then, probably the last chance to take her before she’s too hip to be seen with her uncle.

cynic-al
    Free Member