Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • a little advice plz
  • jakeg1
    Free Member

I have been a chef for over 10 years now, working in the high end pub trade! However 14 hour days 5 days a week and the endless amount of stress that comes with working in the kitchens is starting to take its toll! Time for change i think, i have no real qualifications as i went straight from school into the kitchens so finding a job is going to be difficult and i cant take time out to do a course as i need to keep earning! Has anyone else had any experiance with this situation or can anyone give me some advise on what to do! Cheers

yossarian
    Free Member

Basically if you can handle working in a professional kitchen you’ll find most other jobs a piece of piss.

Thought about going into education? Lots of opportunity in the post 16 sector. Go and teach your skills to the next generation AND go home at a reasonable time.

paulosoxo
    Free Member

My mate went into running a school kitchen, he left to go elsewhere, but he seems to always regret it. It was 40hour normal shifts, no weekends etc.

Sonething simikar to this.

http://www.indeed.co.uk/m/viewjob?jk=aa5d5a60dbbe54dd&from=serp

project
    Free Member

However 14 hour days 5 days a week and the endless amount of stress that comes with working in the kitchens is starting to take its toll!

Work 8 hours per day and let someone else have a chance of a job, your mangement is greedy.

Move on, the job will still be there when youve gone,somebody is always round to step into your shoes, probnably for worse pay and conditions.

paladin

Look into cooking on the rigs. Good money and 6 months off a year.

jakeg1
    Free Member