Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 183 total)
  • A good old fashioned shed building thread (picture heavy)
  • kayak23

I’ve just taken on an allotment plot recently. Partly so that I could grow some rad veg to eat, but mainly, if I’m honest, so I could BUILD A SHED! 😀

I thought I’d share my progress with you shed-appreciating folks here.

I work as an instructor/technician in a College, teaching cabinetmaking and so for one, have a great workshop to use but also, a two-week window over the Easter break with no students in (except Mon, Tues, Weds last week), with holiday booked to hastily build my shed. I had to be quick!

My design is inspired by boats, by camping pods, by curvy stuff, by not wanting a flat-roofed shed, and so is based on images I have been looking at online by a bloke called Stimpson, who came up with a quick and elegant way of building shelters for boat building…

The curved ribs are formed from two sections, blocks are screwed in from both sides, thereby locking the components into a curve. Dead simple really but very effective.

So, Monday morning, the first day of half-term, I laid out some moisture-resistant mdf on the floor(which would later become my floor) and started the build.

I had done a plan of sorts on Google Sketchup. The shed had to be no more than 10×8′.

Initial layout onto 2 8×4′ panels.

Curve is laid out (2440mm radius, starting from 300mm vertical from bottom to increase headspace)

Bending rib 1 around the blocks, and making any adjustments.

A large percentage of the materials I used were effectively free thankfully, else I wouldn’t have been able to do this. We had a lot of stuff left lying outside when some contractors did a massive job, finished and cleared off, leaving it all open to the elements. I rescued it 🙂

The double skin rib with blocks between at regular intervals, and screwed in from both sides.