Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • 7 Stanes – what are they like?
  • Who_else
    Free Member

I am new to riding mtbs. What are the 7 Stanes sites like? Too hard for a beginner?

10pmix
    Free Member

Based on my experience of 3 of them; Glentress has green and blue routes for beginners (some greens are even capable of taking pull along bikes for children according to their guide). Its hard for me to say whether the reds would be suitable, not for an absolute beginner certainly. Innerleithen does not have the same variety so perhaps not. Kirroughtree again has easier routes but not so extensive. So go to Glentress and have a great time! The riding there is superb.

simonralli2
    Free Member

The Stanes are excellent places for a beginner, especially the red routes. Some of the black routes are often more about fitness than really hard, and the difficult bits are very short and really obstacles, and can be walked down or up, as I often do. Something like Mabie Red, Kirroughtree Red or Glentress Blue are great beginner rides.

Also, some of the Stanes now have beginner loops where you can practice specific skills in a controlled environment.

Johnbot
    Free Member

Get out there and try them mate, Glentress is a good place to start, have a look at obstacles before you attempt them and just take it easy. You will have a blast, just take the plunge.

Who_else
    Free Member

What kind of kit and bike will I need?

MussEd
    Free Member

Make sure you take a dog.

10pmix
    Free Member

You need a good bike and proper kit. But your question is very general. What bike do you have now? The weather can be crap and the trails can be remote and mechanicals could strike so you need to be prepared. I rode McMoab at Kirroughtree (furthest point from the centre) on a Friday morning and it felt like I was the only person left on earth.

MussEd
    Free Member