Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • 50km ride preparation advice
  • orangespyderman

I may have been talked in to signing up for the 50km course of a ride on the 25th September (there’s a 35km bailout option I’m very comfortable with..). Now I’m in reasonably good shape (for me…) after a decent couple of summer months of some fairly regular riding and yesterday I did a 40k with about 850m vertical climb at somewhere around 11 km/h. Parts of that should have gone faster but quiet a few bits had had forestry work and that meant quiet a bit of carrying at times, some I’m not overly worried that the avg pace is a bit slow. The ride is going to be 50k and probably closer to 1100 vertical.

So, STW, since I’m kinda new to taking this kind of thing anything like seriously, I’d like some advice on anything I can do to improve my chances at getting round this intact, or my performance if I do.

A few groundrules that I’ve fixed (or have been fixed for me by my family, I’ll let you all take a guess at which are which 🙂 ) :

– I’ll probably only be able to ride on weekends between now and then, but may be able to fit in one (but probably not two) cheeky midweeks
    – Anything that requires religiously adhering to any dietary constraints (especially if it’s stuff like “Don’t drink any beer until after the ride”) are probably not going to happen. I’ll happily try and pay attention to the kinda foods I eat, but I ain’t going to get involved in anything that involves weighing food or avoiding anything completely (except maybe if it’s salad 😆 )
    – This is supposed to be fun, and I’ll happily try anything (kinda…) as long as it remains so