Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • What car should I or shouldn't I buy?
  • Duane…
    Free Member

(Following on from here;
    http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/buying-a-second-hand-car-dos-and-donts)

Hi all,

So my Focus is on it’s last legs (1999, 1.6, 3dr, Zetec, 112k on clock, quite a few problems), so looking to replace it.

Problem is that while I’m looking at some fairly standard options (Golf, Civic etc), there must be loads of cars I’ve not thought of which are decent.

Budget is a bit of a toughy, I’d really rather not spend more than £3k, but can maybe stretch to 4k if it’s something really nice.
    Economy and reliabilty/cost of maintenance, and cost to insure, are of course important. I’m a Mech Eng student so have access to workshop, so a bit of work every now and then, but nothing taking the mick.
    Something vaguely nice to drive/be in would be great, but maybe not realistic.
    Something with between 40 and 60k on the clock would be good.
    Decent sized for bikes/people.

So currently looking at Mk 1.5 and Mk2 Focii, 04ish Civics and Golfs, 06ish Mazda3s (pushing the budget but had a look at one today and liked it).
    Mk 6 Fiesta is too small, Mk7 is too expensive.
    Clios, Polos etc etc are too small.

How about Toyotas? Mazdas (not really thought about them before today)? Seats? Skodas?

Anything to avoid or sounds suitable Any thoughts would be great.

Ta, Duane.

Bregante

Toyota corolla are reliable and boring. Driven by reliable and boring people. Good second hand cars IMO (we have a pool 54 plate pool car at work with 120,000 miles on it that has been impeccably reliable)

Edit: think it’s a 1.5 diesel?

chewkw
    Free Member

I drive a Toyota Corolla 2005 1.6 petrol auto … nothing spectacular and definitely not a babe magnet but you can always custom it if you want as there are plenty of after market kits for it.

Personally, I would either buy a Toyota or Skoda …

DickBarton