Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Warping tyres- is it just me…..?
  • lardman
    Free Member

Now, let me caveat this thread by drawing attention to my username. I’m a big ‘ol lump.

Tonight’s ride was curtailed early due to a rear tyre distorting and becoming permanently warped, bulged, wobbly. It’s not the first time either, more like the 4th in around 3 years.

I noticed the tyre pressure was quite low as soon as I started riding. Not low enough to make me stop and add air, but low enough I could feel a little squirmyness on corners. Of course, the first berm I hit at speed produced a wall of hiss and white spray. It also distorted the tyre so much that I had the ride slowly back while the tyre rubbed on the frame.

It’s a Maxxis shorty, but has happened to a Maxxis HR, and a Spech butcher too.

Never happened on ‘non-tubeless’ tyre/rim setups.
    Must I just ride slower, or with higher pressures?

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

I did it to a shorty and a purgatory. I run a slightly higher pressure these days and touch wood, it hasn’t happened since.

Used to run around 17 front 20 rear, up to 22 and 28 now, wee bit more on rear if racing enduro or lakes type rockiness.

lardman
    Free Member

Hmmm- so not just me then. I’m running low 20’s front and back normally. One of the main attraction of tubeless was, for me, lower pressures and better grip. I may try another brand as a ‘mud’ replacement for the Shortyy this time. See if that helps.

mboy
    Free Member

I’ve done it to a few tyres over the years, and though not as svelte as I used to be, I’m around 12 1/2st usually so not that big of a lump, and I run my pressures well into the 20’s normally, rear sometimes as much as 32psi.

I’ve managed to warranty tyres before, but it does depend on the manufacturer as to how helpful they will be. Maxxis in fairness, usually pretty helpful here.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member