Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 57 total)
  • Vinyl cutter and starting a custom paint business
  • bigyim
    Free Member

I’m thinking of dipping my toe into bike custom spray jobs and would be thinking I’d need a vinyl cutter of some sort. I was looking at the cri cut ones which seem good but the reviews seem very hit and miss.
    Any one had any experience with one of these or any idea on an alternative?
    I’ve been a spray painter for about 20 years in the motor trade and I like to think I’m not too shabby. Have painted a lot of my own bike frames and a few mates ones. Just thinking about branching out into a side project and seeing how things turn out.
    Any one have any advice on design programs for stencils or vinyl cutters then I’m all ears.

Ps I’m thinking the name should be Big nose customs, cause my two year old said I had a big nose

johnw1984
    Free Member

No idea on the vinyl cutters, but I’d say go for it! There always seems to be a lot of people asking about custom paint and there’s a lot of cowboys out there.

My mate just got his frame painted by someone who was recommended. He rejected the first go as one side needed another coat.

He got it back and nothing had been masked off! Had to clean all the bearing faces, dropouts, head tube and bb shell!

It does look pretty good though now he’s got it sorted though. It’s something I would love to have done one day (if I ever keep a bike long enough!).

zippykona

I have a Cricut maker.

It really is a major pain in the arse if you don’t know what you are doing.

I don’t know what I’m doing. Everything is a real struggle but I’m getting there. The Cricut Uk F.B page seems to know all the answers.

Don’t go anywhere near the U.S cricut videos on youtube, they will make you want to kill.

I needed a GIANT sticker for my bike but couldn’t find the font I needed. Amazingly I managed to download the logo and use that.

What would you use it for?