Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Towbar mounted bike rack owners: what cover do you use?
  • sideshow
    Free Member

Just pulled the trigger (wow I’ve never used that phrase before, am I a “gangsta” now?) on a towbar mounted stand-in bike rack. The Atera one.

I’m now looking for a cover to protect the bikes from rain, road ming and prying eyes. But most covers seem to have the opening at the front (e.g. pointing towards the vehicle tailgate) which means on a towbar carrier they would cover the carrier’s light board.

Some have suggested BBQ covers but these all seem a tad too small. Measuring the bikes I would need 195cm wide, 100cm ish high and a depth of 80cm + bike spacing e.g. around 115cm.

Even if such a thing were available (can’t see it) it would still have a hole in the bottom which needs blocking somehow to protect from the road spray.

What do y’all do?

Stoner
    Free Member

I tried a fiamma cover once. pile of shite. shredded itself on the motorway. Got a warranty replacement, did the same. Concluded it was a waste of time. Have never seen the need since.

survivor

I don’t bother but if on longer journeys I’ll cover my disks with plastic bags.

Just give the bikes a wash afterwards

Simon

I don’t use a cover and don’t know anyone that does.

proutster
    Free Member

I’ve never even thought that anyone would think about having a cover!
    IMHO no need, if you’re going out on a ride, then the bike will get dirty when you ride it and if you’re on the way back from a ride, then the bike might get a free wash…

Junkyard
    Free Member

as above why ?
    Its a mountain bike i ride it through grime, mud and dirt why would i protect it from some rain?

sideshow
    Free Member

So do all of you keep your bikes locked up outdoors in the garden when at home? with a liberal spraying of diesel drops and salt for good measure?

It’s for a campervan trip … they’ll be on it for more than a couple of hours. 😉

thisisnotaspoon