• This topic has 19 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by br.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • STW Jobless club – I want out!!!
  • badblood
    Free Member

Why oh why can i not get a friggin job?

I am not a workshy fop

I have professional qualifications in my field

I have lots of experience

I am either over qualified for a job or they don't seem to think I have enough/the right kind of experience.

No mention of having a decent work ethic or attitude

Just got knocked back from a Customer Relations job based on the outcome of a friggin Psychometric test!!! No human opinion, just a score!

My C.V. says I am employable, my attitude is positive and I seem to say the correct things in interviews (based on feedback afeter being rejected)

I either seem to just get pipped at the post or don't even get my foot in the door!!

Been out of work since April and sick of trawling the sites and papers, sending off applications and not even getting an acknowledgement or just getting turned down flat!!

belgianbob

Bb what is it that you do?

Flaperon

Tell me about it. I'm an unemployed professional pilot and know exactly what you mean. Fortunately I think I've got a job as a simulator instructor starting in December, but it still means another month of dealing with the unpleasantness of the job centre.

This week I got sent two letters, one telling me to turn up at 10am and another saying 3.30pm. Arrive at 9.50, kept waiting 30 minutes and then they tell me I should have ignored the letter saying 10am and to come back in the afternoon.

FFS, it takes me 45 minutes to get to the damn place and then costs £1.50 to park, and they want me to do it twice with no apology? On their instruction I have now applied for a job as a kitchen porter earning minimum wage…