Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Stocks/shares – Coronavirus/Brexit/Trump etc
  • cyclelife
    Free Member

What’s the STW holders doing with theirs in the present situation?

I’m new to investing and will need funds my SIPP in 6 years time – Stick or move?

footflaps

Shares are a long term investment and you should be aware that a 40% fall (the next crash) is not that unlikely at some point in the next 6 years. NB They normally recover quite quickly after each crash; but there are no guarantees….

thekingisdead
    Free Member

time *in* the market, not *timing* the market.

This shouldn’t even make you blink if you’re investing in shares, tbh. I’ve just topped up with some extra cash sat in my SIPP.

6 years out from retirement (and depending on your retirement strategy – drawdown, annuity etc) I would hope you have your allocations correct (% equities vs % bonds) to take into account little blips like this.

To be brutally honest (and not meant aggressively) if you’re worried about a blip like this are you going to be able to remain calm when a 20-30% fall comes?

footflaps

6 years out from retirement (and depending on your retirement strategy – drawdown, annuity etc) I would hope you have your allocations correct (% equities vs % bonds) to take into account little blips like this.

I’ll be 100% in equities at 6 years out as I’m expecting them to grow for another 40 years (assuming I live that long).

thekingisdead
    Free Member

I’ll be 100% in equities at 6 years out as I’m expecting them to grow for another 40 years (assuming I live that long).

Indeed! I should have added, “I hope your allocations are correct….for your retirement strategy”. It sounds like cyclelife *might* be liquidating at retirement, so I assumed some allocation split between bonds/equities was in order.

cyclelife
    Free Member

Looking at drawdown in 6 years.

footflaps

In one lump sum?