Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Sharpening cheap knifes? May contain polishing a turd content.
  • rockhopper70

We acquired five knifes and block via a tesco promotion a couple of years ago.
    They feel reasonable quality, quite heavy but aren’t, and really haven’t been, very sharp.
    I’m no expert on knifes and had a go with an easy sharp sharpener but that seemed to remove quite a lot of metal.
    So, the question is, are these just cheap knifes and will never sharpen, or will they sharpen reasonably well with the right kit and practice. If the latter, what’s the easiest way to get a decent edge?

And how do you sharpen a serrated bread knife?

Bregante

If you can face going to ikea, their Aspekt sharpener is dirt cheap and foolproof. Ours keeps our TK Max knife set, sharp as a – erm…. well – a knife.

Not used it on the bread knife though. Not because I didn’t think it would work just haven’t tried it.

hungrymonkey
    Free Member

My cheap -ish knives sharpen up pretty nicely – just take it slow and don’t use too much pressure.
    I use the non-glazed ring on the base of a mug to shapen mine… (I’d use a proper steel if they were fancy knives)

CheesybeanZ

We’ve got the ikea Aspekt sharpener mentioned above ^^, its ok for taking the rounded shoulder off the edge then finish off with a few strokes on a steel .

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Money well spent. My parents have one that’s over forty years old and still doing the job.

DezB
    Free Member

I’ve kept a couple of ok knives bought from TK Maxx going using an Ebay version of that Ikea one. They’ve lasted 3 years so far and can’t see any reason to change knives or the sharpener. Not something I feel the urge to spend “manly” money on, to be honest. They cut, they sharpen.
    I don’t have a beard.

chewkw
    Free Member

You can buy those Aspekt sharpener lookalike at TK Maxx too … 🙂

butcher