Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Separation advice
  • twistedpencil

So deep breath…

My life has pretty much come grinding to a halt these last few months.

My wife has pretty much turned her back on me and sixteen years of our relationship (that’ll be the anniversary today passing us by…).

We’ve had a tough eighteen months with problems with my son by suicidal and struggling massively with the transition from primary to secondary.  We battled our way through and we’re thankfully on top of this for the time being, although an international pandemic hasn’t made life any easier in dealing with this, support pretty much up sticks and **** off in March last year, though things are slowly coming back.

Anyway, I thought my wife and I worked as a good team, I’m pretty handy in a crisis and she’s bloody ace at knocking on the right doors to get support.

However, just before her birthday her (our) cat passed away at the grand old age of 18 after overcoming cat cancer five years ago, miss you Harv…  Anyway, I think this was the straw that broke the wife’s back.  She’s decided this isn’t the life she wants.  Or at the very least I’m no longer the husband she wants.   Since mid-October she’s brought the shutters down and has stopped communicating with me, physical interactions and all.

I feel like a stranger in my own home, I can’t let my emotions show because I have three kids to worry about.  I’m presently squirreled away in our loft where I spend all week working from home and most evenings steering clear of confrontation.

We’re undergoing counselling, but apart from me making myself look a tit by telling her and the counsellor that I want to make things right and try to work for a future together, all I get back in return is silence or snide remarks.