Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Riding near Edinburgh (Peebles/Inners/?) for a 9 year old
  • sweaman2
    Free Member

Myself and sweajnr (9) are planning on visiting my parents in the summer from Canada. They’ve moved from down South up to just outside Edinburgh and so whilst it is now “home” I’ve no local knowledge at all. There’s a direct flight from Calgary to Edinburgh now so I’m contemplating bringing our bikes to give the trip some more purpose and new trails could be fun.

Sweajnr has been brought up on a steady diet of BC trails including bike parks and he’s at the point where a BC blue is mostly in his wheel house. Climbing is something done out of necessity but he can manage a reasonable ride when sufficiently motivated.

So couple of requests / questions:
    Recommended loops / locations much appreciated. I’m assuming I’ll have access to a car and bike rack at this point.

I’ve been looking at trailforks and am curious about the grading: In BC we go Green, Blue, Black, DoubleBlack (red lines). I’m assuming (or perhaps hoping) that the UK grading is like Europe Ski hills and it’s green, blue, red, black?

a11y

With Peebles/Inners you’ve pretty much hit the jackpot for a young rider. Glentress. Depending on exact ability, starting at the bottom and making up a loop of bits of the blue and red would be a good start. Mine were 7 and 9 last time we rode there and – after a brief tow up the climb to the Buzzards Nest car park, we played around the freeride park then headed straight out on fireroad to Spooky Wood climb. Down Spooky Wood then continue on the reds, or turn left onto the blues. Make sure whatever you do, Blue Velvet and Berm Baby Berm are favourites with my two.

Yes, many will say drive up the forrest road to Buzzards Nest car park to avoid the initial climb, bvut they means they miss the final descent which is fun for kids.and a nice way to finish.