Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Recovery after knee meniscal surgery-any experiences?
  • dcl

I am in to have key hole surgery to repair the meniscal in my knee but I just haven’t got a clue on recover, mobility and riding my bike again.

Has anyone had this and offer any insight into the recovery.

I am also a self employed builder so need some idea for booking work!

Cheers

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

First up, every op is different, so go with what surgeon says, obviously!

My op was 2 years ago, was back at work 3 days after, no pain really had a wee bit of swelling. I took a month off the bike, was fine apart from some stiffness after the first few weeks rides.

Best thing I’ve done for the knee is running, I had reservations as it was stiff at first, but I reckon the running has rebuilt the wasted muscle and it is miles better now. I have a little less mobility, ie canny really get my heel up to touch my arse cheek when stretching quads, but it’s a small price to pay.

Not as much as a peep out of it now running half marathons, got a couple of bigger runs booked for next year! best of luck.

evel_kneivel
    Free Member

I had some tears in my meniscus repaired and spent 6 weeks after on crutches non weight bearing. Suppose it depends on the extent of your surgery, if it’s just a trim and tidy up you might be straight back to it.

Rockape63
    Free Member

I’ve had two ops and the second one I got overconfident in how it was feeling and over did things. Big mistake as my leg turned purple and I was in real pain for a week or more.

So….my advice is to put your leg up for a couple of days and take the recovery real slow.  An exercise bike is a good way or getting back into it bit by bit.

Do that and you should be back to normal in a month.

dcl

Cheers guys.
    Hopefully it is just a tidy up

anagallis_arvensis