Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Recommend me a zoom lens for Sony A200
  • MRanger156
    Free Member

Hi

I want to get a zoom lens for my Sony A200 and have been looking on ebay for a second hand one (tight budget). There are a lot of the old minolta ones out there but I’m not really an expert.

Can anyone recommed me a desent zoom lens (around 300mm) for sensible money new or second hand.

Thanks

5thElefant
    Free Member

Any of the minolta 75 or 100 – 300mm will do. Have a look at Dyxum for specific reviews.

Or… Bristol Cameras have Tamron 50-200s for £59 (new) online. Same as the Sony 50-200 except the badge. Gets surprisingly good reviews.

Rich
    Free Member

Yeah the Tamron will be a good bet.

I bought the Sigma version which had a slightly better review for having a metal mount, and the pictures were sharper.

Bought mine off Ebay for £45 all in.

The 300mm zooms will obviously be better for long distances, but they are much bulkier than these little 55-200mm, which is pretty much the same size as the 18-70mm kit lens.

5thElefant
    Free Member

Do you research if you’re buying used sigma lenses they have some absolute crap stuff in their range (along with lots of good stuff) and some of the older stuff won’t work with the a200.

stumpy01

Along with the stuff already mentioned try to get one with image stabilisation (or does the Sony have a built in stabiliser? – in which case ignore).

Unless you are in good light, shooting with an unstabilised long lens (or stabilised body) tends to result in a lot of camera shake.

druidh
    Free Member

Sony has IS in the body.

stumpy01

As I was typing my post, I had a thought that it might – similar to my KonicaMonolta Dimage Z3 then, I imagine?
    Seems to be the sensible way to do it, really rather than in the lens.

5thElefant
    Free Member